MRCS Examination

MRCS; All about Exam Pattern and Syllabus

MRCS is a hallmark of your basic surgical knowledge, skills, and qualities to become a surgeon. MRCS qualification opens the gateway to your career and progression to become a specialist in surgery.

All about MRCS exam

The MRCS examination is held thrice a year across the United Kingdom and globally, including India. After passing the exam, candidates become eligible to be members of the Royal College of Surgeons of Great Britain and Ireland. The exam mainly tests one’s knowledge and ability in clinical competency, surgical skills, and knowledge. The exam is conduct in two parts: MRCS Part A and Part B.

The membership is awarded by the Royal College of Surgeons of

MRCS Part A Exam

The MRCS Part A exam is a five-hour, multiple-choice examination, and questions are the single best answer with five options. Aspirants are expected to demonstrate applied sciences and general surgery level knowledge of a surgical trainee, which they must have achieved after two or three years of qualification. One is allowed to make six attempts to pass the examination.

The examination has two papers. Paper 1 is the test of basic applied sciences. Paper 2 is the Principles of general surgery.

MRCS Part B Examination

One needs to pass the final examination to achieve membership in the Royal College of Surgeons. The MRCS Part B examination tests the skills, knowledge, and attributes necessary to move beyond basic training and upper levels of specialist surgical training.

It is an objective structured clinical exam (OSCE). OSCE has examined and manned stations in circuits. The candidates are required to rotate around these series-wise stations.

MRCS Part B has 18 examined stations. One minute is given to the students to read the instructions. Each station lasts for 9 minutes.
Adding an MRCS as a suffix to your name guarantees that you have an internationally acclaimed membership.

Passing MRCS exam, opens a world of oppourtunities for you. Have a clear idea about the exam pattern and syallbus and start your preparation. All the best.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *