MRCS Part A 2023 January Exam Dates Announced; Application Deadline, Syllabus, Eligibility, Format & More; Must-know Guidelines for Candidates to Note

Here are the complete information on upcoming MRCS Part A 2023 January Exam including Dates, Application Deadline, Syllabus, Eligibility, Format & More; Must-know Guidelines for Candidates to Note down.

As the Royal College of Surgeons of England (RCS) has officially declared the exam date for MRCS Part A January 2023 Exam, candidates are all in a hurry to fill up their application forms before the deadlines. Here we have arranged everything in detail including the exam fees, locations, application procedure, syllabus, eligibility and everything you should know before you can submit your application.  

If you plan to appear for the exams in January 2023, this article is just meant for you. So, keep on reading. Let’s get started.

For anyone who want to take MRCS Part A Exam in January 2023, it is time to start their preparation. Application for the intercollegiate MRCS Part A January 2023 Examination is now open.

Important Dates & Information to Remember

Here are the important dates to note:

  • The Application Deadline is 21st of October 2022.
  • The exam date is 10th of January 2023, Tuesday.

The candidates should submit their applications on or before 5.00PM on 21st of October 2022 to be eligible to sit for the exam.

MRCS Part A Examination Fee: £578.00

The fee for MRCS Part A examination is £578.00 (including local fee where applicable).


As it is an international exam, it is available in multiple locations across the continents Asia, Middle East, Europe & Central Asia and Africa. Following are the lists of countries.

Locations in Asia

  • Bangladesh
  • Burma
  • Hong Kong
  • India
  • Malaysia
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Philippines
  • Singapore
  • South Korea
  • Sri Lanka
  • Thailand
  • Vietnam

Middle East, Europe & Central Asia

  • Afghanistan
  • Azerbaijan
  • Bahrain
  • Cyprus
  • Iraq
  • Jordan
  • Israel
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kuwait
  • Lebanon
  • Oman
  • Palestine
  • Qatar
  • Saudi Arabia
  • United Arab Emirates
  • Uzbekistan


  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Egypt
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Morocco
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Senegal
  • Sierra Leone
  • Sudan
  • Tunisia
  • Zambia

About the MRCS Exam:

The MRCS examination is an intercollegiate examination administered by Colleges of Surgeons in Great Britain and Ireland. MRCS exams aim to assess trainee surgeons’ knowledge of both basic sciences and surgical principles.

Since this is an intercollegiate exam, the syllabus, format, and content are the same for all UK and Ireland surgical Royal Colleges. Both the Irish Medical Council and the General Medical Council (GMC -UK) fully recognize the MRCS.


In order to be eligible to sit the MRCS exam, you must hold a medical degree that is accepted for full or provisional registration with the General Medical Council (GMC) of the UK or the Medical Council in Ireland.

The original certificate (or an authenticated copy) of a medical degree acceptable to each of the four colleges must be submitted by first-time applicants who do not appear on the registers of the GMC or Medical Council (Ireland).

Exam Format

MRCS A is a five-hour MCQ exam consisting of two papers. The first paper (an AM paper) is of three hours while the second paper is two hours. These papers cover the generic surgical sciences, applied knowledge, and core knowledge.

Paper 1 : Applied Basic Sciences.

Paper 2 : Principles of Surgery in General.

In order to pass Part A, you must demonstrate a minimum level of competence in each paper, as well as achieve or exceed the cumulative pass mark. It is possible for candidates to attempt the MRCS exam six times.


Both single-best-answer MCQs and extended matching MCQs are used to test a surgical trainee’s knowledge of applied basic science and surgical principles in general.

There are 10 modules in the syllabus

  1. Module 1: basic science knowledge relevant to surgical practice
  2. Module 2: common surgical conditions
  3. Module 3: basic surgical skills
  4. Module 4: the assessment and management of the surgical patient
  5. Module 5: perioperative care of the surgical patient
  6. Module 6: assessment and early treatment of the patient with trauma
  7. Module 7: surgical care of the pediatric patient
  8. Module 8: management of the dying patient
  9. Module 9: organ and tissue transplantation
  10. Module 10: professional behavior and leadership skills

How to Book for MRCS Part A Exam?

If you are not registered with RCS, you need to create a new account with RCS to apply for the exam.

Follow the link given below to register and book for the exam. Click here to register

For those who are already registered, can book for the exam by clicking here.

Do you need any kind of support for your preparation? Reach out to us on WhatsApp and we will help you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *