EBCOG Part 1 exam: Everything you need to know

As you all know, EBCOG (the European Board and College of Obstetrics and Genecology) is the official authority of EFOG Exams. Taking the test is a prestigious qualification and would be a valuable addition to your career development.

EBCOG Fellowship Exam

The EBCOG exam consists of 2 parts.

EFOG- EBCOG Part 1–  Knowledge-Based Assessment (KBA)

EFOG- EBCOG Part 2– Clinical Skill Assessment (OSCE)

 It consists of two parts: Part 1 is a knowledge-based test and Part 2 is an OSCE

As part of the EBCOG Examination, candidates are evaluated on the knowledge they have acquired during their training in general obstetrics and gynecology. Based on the EBCOG training syllabus, the assessment extends to the clinical application of the knowledge.


  • A primary medical degree
  • Candidates must be listed on their own country’s Medical Practitioners Register.
  • The candidate will be asked to provide evidence of good standing from their Medical Council
  • Candidates must provide evidence of their clinical experience and post-graduation training since graduation
  • The candidate must certify that he or she is not currently suspended or removed from medical practice by the medical council/hospital or any other authority anywhere in the world.
  • Candidates must have a compatible laptop.
  • It is necessary for candidates to complete at least 3 years in their training program before they can sit for Part 1 Examination. The Part 2 Examination may be attempted six months before completion of their training program as recognized by their national Obstetrics and Gynecology societies or authorities.
  • Candidates who become eligible for the Part 2 Examination should take Part 2 within a period of 3 years.  The candidates will have to retake Part 1 once this period expires or if they do not pass Part 2 within 3 years.

How to Apply for the Exam

Applications are submitted online. Online applications for the Part 1 Examination are announced several months before the Examination on the EBCOG website.

Once completed, the form is submitted online, along with the documents listed below.

Documents needed:

Scanned and countersigned copies of the following documents are required:

1. Basic Medical degree certificate

 2. Registration with National Medical Council (License to Practice)

 3. Photocopy of passport or identity card

 4. Proof of clinical experience (submit scanned copies of evidence of each appointment)

 5. Evidence of good standing.

Candidates who successfully complete the program will receive the award of European Fellow of Obstetrics and Gynecology (EFOG) – EBCOG. English will be the language of the examination, which is open to both European and non-European candidates.

Candidates are recommended to possess comprehensive and up-to-date knowledge of Obstetrics and Genecology. The candidates should have a thorough understanding of current evidence-based international guidelines.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *