MRCEM Exam Pattern

MRCEM Exam Pattern: In a Nutshell

The Membership of the Royal College of Emergency Medicine (MRCEM) is a postgraduate qualification awarded to medical aspirants who are looking to build a career in Emergency medicine. This qualification is awarded by the Royal College of Emergency Medicine (RCEM). Here we will delve into the MRCEM exam pattern.

The aim of the MRCEM exam is to assess the candidate’s knowledge and competence in Emergency medicine.

The examination consists of three parts: Primary, Intermediate and OSCE.
Primary Single Best Answer (SBA)
Intermediate Single Best Answer (SBA)
• MRCEM Objective Structured Clinical Examination (OSCE)

MRCEM Primary

This is a Single Best Answer (SBA) test and it ensures a solid foundation in the basic science that underpins Emergency Medicine care and samples the RCEM Basic Science Curriculum.

Duration of the examination – 3 Hours
No of Questions – 180 MCQs
Exam format – Single best answer questions

MRCEM Intermediate

This is also a Single Best Answer (SBA) exam. This test ensures a thorough awareness of the whole variety of conditions and presentations in the Emergency Department by sampling the RCEM Clinical Syllabus.

Duration of the examination – 4 Hours ( 90 questions in one two hour and one hour break in between)
No of Questions – 180 MCQs
Exam format – Single best answer questions


This objective structured clinical examination assess the clinical and communicative abilities aspirants.

Exam format – Objective structured clinical examination
No of stations – 16 eight-minute stations,with one minute reading time between stations
The MRCEM examination is one of the leading qualifications in emergency medicine.

If you are a medical aspirant who has completed the necessary training and experience in emergency medicine and wants to demonstrate your expertise in the field, then MRCEM is the gateway to your dreams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *